DatabasesStatistics: InternationalStatistics: United States
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Environmental Studies 

Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://potsdam.libguides.com/Environment  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles            Print Page
  
 

Articles - what are they?

  • An article is a written piece from a publication such as a journal, magazine or newspaper. 
  • Faculty expect edited pieces from a valid publisher; information on the web from companies or individuals and wikipedia are usually unacceptable
  • Faculty may require articles of a particular type, i.e. newspaper, popular magazine, or scholarly journal.  See this chart for a refresher.
  • Access to articles is provided through licensed databases on the library website. These databases collect articles from many publications.
  • Some of the most useful of these databases for your discipline are listed to the right.  Others are found in our A-Z database list.
 

Articles - How to Search for Them

  1. Try a title or keyword search on your topic.
  2. Look for useful "subject" or "descriptor" words.  These will either be in a list on the results page, or you may need to look at a number of individual records.
  3. Go back to the search screen and search BY SUBJECT/DESCRIPTOR (not by title/keyword) using the words you discovered in step 2.
  4. Be sure to take advantage of:
    • Boolean connectors (AND, OR, NOT)
    • Truncation/Wildcard (educat*)
    • Phrase searching ("childhood obesity")
  5. When you find an item you want, use ArticleLinker to get it.

More detailed directions can be found on our Searching Databases page.

 

Searching for articles

Environmental Studies MultiSearch - for articles

Searches these databases: Environment Complete, Green File, JSTOR Ecology & Botany Collection, Wildlife & Ecol. Stud., CRS Reports.   Or use MultiSearch Advanced.

Or search individual databases. Most relevant for this subject are:

 
 

Browse for periodicals

Browse a list of our environmentasl studies journals - both print and online

Browse for environmental studies journals

 

Periodical title search

Check for the availability, online or in paper, of a particular magazine or journal.

Periodical title search

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait