Reference sources - what are they?
Materials which are usually consulted for specific quick-fact information rather than read cover to cover. Reference resources include things like:
- Background or overview synopses (encyclopdedia)
- Definitions (dictionary)
- Synonyms (thesaurus)
- Statistics
- Biographical details
- Maps (atlas)
Links/Resources to the right are specific to this discipline. General sources can be found at the libraries Reference Sources page.
Reference sources - how to search them
Most reference resources are organized in a logical order that aids searching (alphabetically in an encyclopedia or dictionary, by date in a chronology, etc). In paper, most also include an index in the back which points users to the appropriate pages. Searching reference resources electronically is unusually equal with the paper techniques. Try the following:
- Decide on your search terms
- Try searching with them
- If it doesn't work, try a synonym or related idea
Things to watch out for:
- Is the computer searching the title/header of the entry or the full-text of the information? You will likely get more results, but more of them will be irrelevant, if you are searching the full-text .
- Are you searching for a proper noun (name, place,…)? Make sure that the spelling is correct and try variations if it originated in a foreign language.
- Searching for something by date? This is trickier than it sounds. If possible, search for an event name or topic rather than a date, e.g. Civil Rights Movement or Hippies or Flower Children rather than 1960s.
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Search a collection of biology reference e-books:
Or, search individual titles.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait