Reference sources - what are they?
Materials which are referred to for brief or general information. Examples include:
- Background or overview synopses (encyclopedia)
- Definitions (dictionary)
- Synonyms (thesaurus)
- Statistics
- Biographical Details
- Maps (atlas)
Links/Resources to the right are specific to this discipline. General sources can be found at the libraries Reference Sources page.
Reference sources - how to search them
Reference resources are organized in an order that aids searching (alphabetically, chronologically, etc). Most include an index which points users to the appropriate section. Tips for searching:
- Decide on your search terms
- Try searching with them
- If not satisfied with the results, try searching a synonym or related idea
Things to watch out for:
- Is the computer searching only the title/header of the entries or the full-text of the information? You will get more results, but more of them will be irrelabent if you are searching the full-text.
- Are you searching for a proper noun (name, place,...)? Make sure that the spelling is correct and try variations if it originated in a foreign language.
- Searching for something by date? This is trickier than it sounds. If possible, search for an event name or topic rather than a date, e.g. civil rights movement or hippies or flower children rather than 1960s.
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Search a group of online encyclopedias on criminal justice.
Or, search individual titles below:
Other Reference Tools
- Encyclopedia of Sociology
- Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
- World of Forensic Science
- Cornell Legal Research Encyclopedia
- Firearms and violence: a critical review
- A Guide to the U.S. Federal Legal System
- Handbook of Forensic Services
- NCJRS - topical index
- World Factbook of Criminal Justice Systems
- JUSTNET: Justice Technology Information Network
Encyclopedias: Print
In print in Crumb Library reference collection:
- Encyclopedia of organized crime in the United States: from Capone's Chicago to the new urban underworld. (Ref HV 6446.K43 2000)
- The Encyclopedia of police science. (Ref HV 7901.E53 1995)
- The Encyclopedia of forensic science. (Ref HV 8073.L36 1993)
- American justice. (Ref KF 154.A44 1996)
- Encyclopedia of the American judicial system. (Ref KF 154.E53 1987)
- Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court. (Ref KF 8742.W567 1990)
- West's encyclopedia of American law. (Ref KF 154.W47 1998) - a comprehensive general work on U.S. law. Annual supplements.
- American law yearbook. (Ref KF 154.W472) annual.
Internet resource portals
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait