This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music 

Music research resources for SUNY Potsdam including the Crane School of Music
Last update: Jan 29th, 2010 URL: http://potsdam.libguides.com/music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles            Print Page
  
 

Want Full-Text?

Use IIMP: full-text  and JSTOR  to locate scanned full-texts to articles about music.

 

Which Music Site To Use?

Music Index  and IIMP: full-text cover music periodicals. RILM Abstracts of Music Literature includes scholarly journals, book chapters, dissertations, and other non-periodical publications about music.  JSTOR contains scanned images of back issues of journals, including those on music history and musicology. ERIC  will be useful to locate writings about music education. See the box "Other" on this page for additional music article resources.

 
 

Periodicals

Music Index covers all aspects of music - from musicology to the business of music. Some 640 periodicals are indexed selectively. Links to full-text when available via ArticleLinker. Also available in Crane Music Library in paper form (1949-2001).

IIMP: full-text indexes music periodicals from 1874 to the present, with full-text of some 120 titles. Also includes detailed abstracts. Links to full-text when available elsewhere via ArticleLinker.

 

Journals

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature covers articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, conference proceedings, reviews, recording notes, etc. Links to full-text when available via ArticleLinker.

JSTOR digitizes complete back runs of significant journals in many fields. Get better search results by checking the box(es) to limit your search to the appropriate discipline(s). JSTOR coverage note: Most titles are complete from start of publication, but recent years are NOT available in JSTOR. This "moving wall" of unavailability generally ranges from 3 and 5 years.

ERIC

ERIC provides indexing and abstracts to education journals and to other education resources, including those for music education. It links to full-text documents in ERIC Full-Text.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageEdward Komara
Contact Info:
315-267-3227
Send Email

Subjects:
Music

 

Other

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait