Finding articles
- If you have a topic, and are searching for articles, use the search tools in the box at the right.
- If you have a full article citation, you can find out if it is available by checking our "Periodical Title Search". This will tell you whether the article is available in paper or online. It also links to InterLibrary Loan if the article is not available here.
- Most article search tools have an "Article Linker" button -
- to perform a check for local availability. When you click this button, you will learn if the article is here in paper or online; or it will provide a link to Interlibrary loan if it is not. - There are separate search tools for newspaper articles: consider if they would be appropriate for your topic.
Bibliographies
Bibliographies are lists of publications organized by topic. See this pages for suggestions about finding and using bibliographies in U.S. history
Search tools for articles in: History - Modern America
Most relevant for this subject:
- Academic Search Premier
An academic multi-disciplinary database with full text for nearly 4,650 periodicals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. - JSTOR

JSTOR digitizes complete back runs of significant journals in many fields. Get better search results by checking the subject box(es) to limit your search to the appropriate discipline(s). - Project MUSE
Full-text of recent years of 178 journals in many fields, but concentrated in the humanities. - Google Scholar
A Google tool which searches the web for "scholarly" content. Includes government & NGO papers as well as the tables of contents of most scholarly journals. Look for the "Full-Text @ SUNY Potsdam" to access content held digitally by the College Libraries. - History Cooperative A nonprofit humanities resource offering top-level online history scholarship. Some journals available in full-text online.
Related search tools
Also consider using
- Arts & Humanities Search
1,150 arts and humanities journals and relevant items from over 7,000 other journals. Cited reference searching as well as subject keyword. - Alternative Press Index Archive

Indexes some 700 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines - U.S. and international; for the period 1969 to 1990 - Viva
A bibliography of women's history in historical and women's studies journals. 1975 - present - Handbook of Latin American Studies
Latin American issues in 1,500+ social sciences and humanities journals worldwide, as well as dissertations, conference proceedings, and monographs. - America: History and Life This is the most comprehensive abstracting index to articles, books, and theses on North American history. On paper for the years 1964 -1998 at Ref E 171.A1 A48
Librarian |
David TrithartOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Crumb Library. 2nd Floor. 267-3311
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Computer Science, Modern Languages, Government Documents
Library Info
Library Hours
![]() |
Contact Info:
Crumb Library. 2nd Floor. 267-3311
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Computer Science, Modern Languages, Government Documents
Library Info
Library Hours
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait