Encyclopedias
These include online and print resources that provide introductory and condensed factual material.
Reference works can be useful for:
- getting some basic information on your topic
- providing lists of references to books and/or articles on your topic
Reference Sources - starting your research and getting an overview
These are found online.
- Dictionary of American History
A comprehensive, 10 vol. reference work on all aspects of the history of the United States - Reference e-books for U.S. History (searches multiple titles)
This link searches some 25 online reference books on U.S. history.
Reference Sources - starting your research and getting an overview
These are found online in paper in the Reference Area - 1st floor Crumb.
- General
- The Reader's Companion to American History. Ref E 174.R43 1991
- The Oxford Companion to United States history. Ref E 174.O94 2001
- American Decades. Ref E 169.12.A419 - a decade-by-decade look at U.S. history
- Encyclopedia of American Facts & Dates. Ref E 174.5.C3 1993
- Facts on File Yearbook. 1943-2000. Ref D 410.F3. An annual record of major events.
- The A.H.A. Guide to Historical Literature. Ref D 20.A1A55 1995. See Sect. 44, "U.S. History since 1920"
- Major fields of history
- Encyclopedia of American Social History. Ref HN 57.E58 1993
- Encyclopedia of American Economic History. Ref HC 103.E52
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy. Ref JX 1407.E53
- The U.S. Labor Movement: references and resources. Ref HD 8066.S766
- The ABC-Clio Companion to Transportation in America. Ref HE 203.R54
- The ABC-Clio Companion to Media in America. Ref P 92.U5 H58 1995
- The ABC-Clio Companion to Women's Progress in America. Ref H 1410.F76 1994
- Guide to American Political History. Ref E 183.F48 2001
- Homelessness in America; 1893-1992, an annotated bibliography. Ref HV 4505.A1H66 1994
- Civil Rights in the United States. Ref E184.A1C47 2000
- Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism. Ref E 184.A1E58
- Reference works on time periods
- American Reconstruction, 1862-1877. Ref E 668.R53 1996
- Modern America, 1914-1945. Ref E766.G74 1995
- Historical Dictionary of the 1920s. Ref E 784.O44 1988
- Historical Dictionarty of the New Deal. Ref E 806.H58 198
- The Harry S. Truman Encyclopedia. Ref E 814.H336
- The Columbia Guide to America in the 1960s. Ref E 841.C575
- Watergate: chronology of a crisis. Ref E 860.C64 1975
- Handbooks on regions of the U.S.
- Encyclopedia of New England. Ref F 4.E53 2005
- The Encyclopedia of New York City. Ref F 128.3.E75 1995
- The Encyclopedia of Southern History. Ref F 207.7.E52
- The New Encyclopedia of the American West. Ref F 591.N46 1998
- Guides to ethnic groups in American history
- see the Reference shelves at Ref E 184 - E 185.
There are many more. Browse the Reference Area in Crumb.
Librarian |
David TrithartOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Crumb Library. 2nd Floor. 267-3311
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Computer Science, Modern Languages, Government Documents
Library Info
Library Hours
![]() |
Contact Info:
Crumb Library. 2nd Floor. 267-3311
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Computer Science, Modern Languages, Government Documents
Library Info
Library Hours
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait