A. Welcome to the SUNY Potsdam LibrariesB. Circulation and ReservesC. InterLibrary LoanD. BooksE. Reference CollectionsF. Periodicals & ArticlesG. Online ResourcesH. Copying and PrintingI. Study SpaceJ. Help
A. The World of InformationB. Information FormatsC. Popular Magazines vs. Scholarly JournalsD. Information PlatformsE. Research Tools
A. What is a Database?B. Types of DatabasesC. Selecting a DatabaseD. The Search BoxE. Keyword and Subject SearchingF. Boolean OperatorsG. Phrase SearchingH. NestingI. TruncationJ. Field-Specific SearchingK. Limiters
A. Reading and Interpreting CitationsB. Types of CitationsC. Why Evaluate?D. Evaluation Criteria
A. Citing SourcesB. Style ManualsC. PlagiarismD. Observing Fair Use
A. Research ProcessB. Topic AnalysisC. Background ResearchD. Find Resources
A. Using our resourcesB. Preparing for SearchingC. Searching BearCatD. Library Locations GuideE. Library of Congress Call Number SystemF. Periodical (Articles) databasesG. Periodical Title ListH. Other databasesI. Other Search Tools
This is the "Start" page of the "Tutorial 2011 - Research In Databases (FW/FS)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tutorial 2011 - Research In Databases (FW/FS)  

Last Updated: Aug 20, 2012 URL: http://potsdam.libguides.com/Tutorial2011-ResearchInDatabases Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Start Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to Start

Welcome to 'Research in Databases'. This tutorial consists of seven modules to help you develop your basic database information-seeking and evaluation skills for your college career.  The tutorial takes between 2 - 4 hours and does not have to be completed in one sitting.

FIRST - Read the overall Learning Objectives for the Tutorial in the box to the right.

SECOND - Begin with Module 1 and read each module in order. Before beginning a module, read its learning objectives first.

THIRD - When you have read the entire tutorial, test your understanding and mastery of the concepts.

Tutorial Contents

Module 1 - About Us: An Orientation to Crumb and Crane Libraries
Module 2 - Research Process: How to approach the task of searching when you have an information need
Module 3 - Info Types: An explanation of the format, types, and platforms of information and why it impacts your searching
Module 4 - Searching: General tactics and techniques a skilled researcher uses in searching databases
Module 5 - Databases: Demonstrations in our databases of effective searching techniques
Module 6 - Results Lists: How to read and interpret the results of a search
Module 7 - Citing:How to appropriately cite the sources you will use in your own work

End - This page explains how to use the associated quiz on Moodle (MAY BE REQUIRED BY YOUR FACULTY)

 

Questions?

Please contact one of the librarians below with any questions or comments:

Carol Franck, Information Literacy Coordinator

Nancy Alzo, Reference Coordinator

 

Learning Objectives for Tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

The tutorial overall prepares students to --

  • Address an information need by finding and efficiently using a variety of formal information sources.
  • Evaluate the quality of the information.
  • Use the information effectively for an appropriate purpose.
  • Use information ethically and legally.
 

Credit

Adapted with permission from the General Library Research Tutorial at Andruss Library, Bloomsburg University (which was itself adapted from the Go for the Gold Tutorial, courtesy of the James Madison University Libraries).

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip