Databases
Databases are searchable or browsable collections of documents or data.
GSA
Abstracts with Programs from GSA meetings are in the GeoRef database from approx. 1997 to the present. Older abstracts can be found in printed volumes:
- 1961-1968 : QE 1.G2142
- 1969-1989 : QE 1.G21421
Abstracts of GSA meetings (2001-date) can be searched at: Browse / Search Abstracts
Databases for Geology
The links below are from the many governmental bodies, professional organizations, educational institutions, and even individuals who have made freely available a wealth of data in geology in the form of databases, datasets, atlases, maps, etc. Of particular note is the United States Geological Survey for which there is a separate list of links in the box to the right.
- American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database
- Bibliography of Fossil Vertebrates
- Cornell’s Geoscience Information System
- Earthtrips
- Educational Resources for Seismology
- Geologic Guidebooks of North America
- Geologic Maps of the U.S. States
- GEOROC
- Geoscience Australia
- Mineralogy Database
- Mount St. Helens Post-Eruption Chemistry Database
- National Earthquake Database (of Canada)
- National Geophysical Data Center
- National Science Digital Library
- OneGeology
- Paleomap Project
- The New Madrid Compendium
- The Paleobiology Database
- University of California Museum of Paleontology: Geology Wing
- Virtual and Online Geologic Field Trip Guides
USGS links
USGS publications are indexed in GeoRef and often include a link to the full-text online. Older USGS publications not yet online may be in our library; look for them by searching in our online catalog BearCat.
- USGS home page
- U.S.G.S. Publications Warehouse
- USGS Series
- USGS Library Online Catalog
- Bedform Sedimentology Studies
- Digital Spectral Library.splib05a
- Earthquake Hazards Program
- Energy Geochemistry Database
- Geology of the National Parks
- Ground Water Atlas of the United States
- Mineral Resources Online Spatial Data
- Minerals Yearbook
- National Geologic Map Database
- National Geospatial Program
- National Water-Quality Assessment Program
- Quaternary Fault and Fold Database for the United States
- Water Resources of the U.S.
Downloading USGS documents
Documents from the USGS Publication Warehouse can be viewed using the DjVu plug-in. This is a free download that runs on the Safari (Mac) browser; or on Windows XP or Vista.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait