Reference sources - what are they?
Materials which are referred to for brief or general information. Examples include:
- Background or overview synopses (encyclopedia)
- Definitions (dictionary)
- Synonyms (thesaurus)
- Statistics
- Biographical Details
- Maps (atlas)
Links/Resources to the right are specific to this discipline. General sources can be found at the libraries Reference Sources page.
Reference sources - how to search them
Reference resources are organized in an order that aids searching (alphabetically, chronologically, etc). Most include an index which points users to the appropriate section. Tips for searching:
- Decide on your search terms
- Try searching with them
- If not satisfied with the results, try searching a synonym or related idea
Things to watch out for:
- Is the computer searching only the title/header of the entries or the full-text of the information? You will get more results, but more of them will be irrelabent if you are searching the full-text.
- Are you searching for a proper noun (name, place,...)? Make sure that the spelling is correct and try variations if it originated in a foreign language.
- Searching for something by date? This is trickier than it sounds. If possible, search for an event name or topic rather than a date, e.g. civil rights movement or hippies or flower children rather than 1960s.
Reference Sources in Print
You will find these in the Crumb Library Reference area, to the right of the reference desk.
- The Cambridge Dictionary of human biology and evolution (Ref. QP34.5 .M24 2005)
- The Dictionary of Anthropology (Ref. GN307 .D485 1997)
- Encyclopedia of Anthropology (Ref. GN11 .E63 2006)
- Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory (Ref GN 281.E53 2000)
There are many more - search Bearcat for relevant encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.
Portals and Web guides
- Intute: anthropology
- Anthropology Resources on the Internet - American Anthropological Association
- Anthropology Resources on the Internet - American Anthropological Association
- Ethnographic Studies
- Nativeweb Resources - Anthropology and Archaeology
- University at Buffalot's listing of Anthropology resources
- WWW Virtual Library - Anthropology
- WWW Virtual Library - Indigenous Studies
- Encyclopedia Smithsonian - Anthropology and Archaeology
- Global Gateway: world cultures & resources
- Links for Anthropology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait