Reference sources - what are they?
Materials which are referred to for brief or general information. Examples include:
- Background or overview synopses (encyclopedia)
- Definitions (dictionary)
- Synonyms (thesaurus)
- Statistics
- Biographical Details
- Maps (atlas)
Links/Resources to the right are specific to this discipline. General sources can be found at the libraries Reference Sources page.
Reference sources - how to search them
Reference resources are organized in an order that aids searching (alphabetically, chronologically, etc). Most include an index which points users to the appropriate section. Tips for searching:
- Decide on your search terms
- Try searching with them
- If not satisfied with the results, try searching a synonym or related idea
Things to watch out for:
- Is the computer searching only the title/header of the entries or the full-text of the information? You will get more results, but more of them will be irrelabent if you are searching the full-text.
- Are you searching for a proper noun (name, place,...)? Make sure that the spelling is correct and try variations if it originated in a foreign language.
- Searching for something by date? This is trickier than it sounds. If possible, search for an event name or topic rather than a date, e.g. civil rights movement or hippies or flower children rather than 1960s.
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Search a group of online encyclopedias on sociology.
Or, search individual titles below:
- Encyclopedia of Sociology
- Encyclopedia of Aging
- Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
- Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior
- Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence
- Encyclopedia of Law and Society: American and Global Perspectives
- Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
- Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
- Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Encyclopedia
- Gender Issues and Sexuality: essential primary sources
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family.
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
- Work-Family Encyclopedia
Reference Resources in Paper
You will find these in the Crumb Library Reference area, to the right of the reference desk.
- 21st century sociology : a reference handbook (Ref. HM585 .A13 2007 )
- A dictionary of sociology (Ref. HM17 .C66 1998)
- Encyclopedia of criminology (Ref. HV6017 .E5295 2005 )
- Encyclopedia of disability (Ref. HV1568 .E528 2006)
- Encyclopedia of racism in the United States (Ref. E184.A1 E773 2005)
There are many more - search Bearcat for other relevant encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks.
Other Reference Tools
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait