Reference sources - what are they?
Materials which are referred to for brief or general information. Examples include:
- Background or overview synopses (encyclopedia)
- Definitions (dictionary)
- Synonyms (thesaurus)
- Statistics
- Biographical Details
- Maps (atlas)
Links/Resources to the right are specific to this discipline. General sources can be found at the libraries Reference Sources page.
Reference sources - how to search them
Reference resources are organized in an order that aids searching (alphabetically, chronologically, etc). Most include an index which points users to the appropriate section. Tips for searching:
- Decide on your search terms
- Try searching with them
- If not satisfied with the results, try searching a synonym or related idea
Things to watch out for:
- Is the computer searching only the title/header of the entries or the full-text of the information? You will get more results, but more of them will be irrelabent if you are searching the full-text.
- Are you searching for a proper noun (name, place,...)? Make sure that the spelling is correct and try variations if it originated in a foreign language.
- Searching for something by date? This is trickier than it sounds. If possible, search for an event name or topic rather than a date, e.g. civil rights movement or hippies or flower children rather than 1960s.
Reference Resources in Paper
Some of the best reference sources are in print, in the Crumb Library reference area:
- Encyclopedia of American Indian history Ref. E77 .E48 2008
- Reference encyclopedia of the American Indian Ref. E76.2 .R4 2006
- Atlas of the North American Indian Ref. G1106.E1 W3 2000
- Archaeology of prehistoric native America : an encyclopedia Ref. E77.9 .A72 1998
- The encyclopedia of Native American legal tradition Ref. KF8204 .E53 1998
- Encyclopedia of the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois Confederacy) Ref. E99.I7 E53 2000
- Encyclopedia of New York Indians : tribes, nations and people of the woodlands areas Ref. E78.N7 E63 1998
There are many more:
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait