Chat with a librarian
History News
English Historical Review

Loading RSS Feed...
National Archives
Today's document...

Loading RSS Feed...
Discovery News: History

Loading RSS Feed...
History
Use the tabs above to find search tools for various kinds of resources.

Reference Sources - starting your research and getting an overview
Materials in the Reference collection in Crumb Library that can be useful for:
- getting some basic information on your topic
- providing lists of references to books and/or articles on your topic
There are many encyclopedias and handbooks for history. Some are online, and many more are in the print reference collection.
A few of the most generally useful online resources are these:
- Dictionary of American History - A comprehensive, 10 vol. reference work on all aspects of the history of the United States
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World. - 8 vols. Pub. 2008. "...provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics".
- Reference e-books for U.S. History (searches multiple online titles)
- Reference e-books for World History (searches multiple online titles)
- Reference e-Books for African and Africana history (searches multiple online titles)
More extensive lists of historical encyclopedias and handbooks are found on these pages:
- United States, Canada, & Latin America
- Europe and Africa
- Middle East & Asia
- Topics in History (women, childhood, arts, etc.)
Citation Assistance
The History Department at SUNY Potsdam has posted a brief guide called Citation Style.
More extensive style guides are in the Crumb Library Reference Collection, including:
- A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations. Turabian. LB2369 .T8 2007 (on Reseerve)
-
The Chicago manual of style. Ref Z 253 .U69 2003
Ask your librarian |
Librarians at SUNY PotsdamContact Info:
Crumb Library: Reference Desk 267-2485
Chat: PotsdamLibrary
Send Email
Library Info
Library Hours
Crumb Library: Reference Desk 267-2485
Chat: PotsdamLibrary
Send Email
Library Info
Library Hours
Course Guides: Spring 2009
- Hist 480: Modern America
- Hist 480: African History, 1800-1980: primary sources
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait